Views
Helpful
Replies

Replacing hubs with switches help needed

rhilberg07
Level 1
Level 1

I'm new at this so bear with me.

I have two LANs, 10.0.0.x and 10.1.0.x, connected via firewall/router with 10.0.0.245 and 10.1.0.5 address. Clients and servers are connected to hubs on both networks. I want to replace the hubs with 2960TT switches already purchased but not configured.

The 10.1.0.x Windows clients have a default gateway of 10.1.0.5 which is the firewall routing to the 10.0.0.x network which then has a default gateway of 10.0.0.253 to Internet.

I suppose I would like to get rid of the firewall but must I replace it with another routing device or can the switches themselves be configured to allow these two networks to co-exist? I need the 10.1.0.x clients to see the 10.0.0.x network and resources but not vice-versa.

I need help configuring the switches. Thanks!

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

A "inexpensive" replacement for the existing firewall/router that should be able to deal with 10 Mbps might be one of the 870, 880 or 1800 series.

View solution in original post

I've attached a Cisco reference sheet which will help you size a router for whatever bandwidth you have in mind.

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

ohassairi
Level 5
Level 5

if you will keep the firewall and just replace the hubs by switches then no action is required.

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

You could likely use your new switches as "drop in" replacements for your hubs with minimal or possibly even no configuration. However, to maintain distinct subnets, you're going to continue to need some type of L3 device, such as your existing firewall/router.