cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

VMWare Integration

jaye15394
Level 1
Level 1

My server team has deployed several servers for VMWare use. There is one NIC dedicated for backup, one for vmotion, one for management, 2 for Prd traffic, 2 for iSCSI (netapps). The 2 for prd and 2 for iSCSI are etherchanneled together to a 3750 switch.

All seems to be working fine except one "glitch."

When I unplug both PRD cables, I can no longer ping the vmotion or iSCSI NICs, which IMO, makes no sense. I can ping them local on the same subnet, but no layer 3. I've went into the VMWare mgmt console and I have reason to believe the default gateway is screwed up, but I'm no VM expert so I'm not sure how complex the config is. Has anyone seen this? There are default gateways for svc console...vmkernel, etc.

Can someone break this down and help?

Much appreciated.

Thanks,

JayE

6 Replies 6

michaelchoo
Level 1
Level 1

I'm assuming that each Ethernet connection to your VMware servers belongs to a different subnet here (which is the scenario I've come across when working on a large bank's network).

You need routing tables on your VMware servers. You see, since your servers have multiple network connections. Assuming that your servers' default gateway point to the PRD connections, when you ping your server's vmotion connection, the server will try to respond to the ICMP packet by sending the echo-reply to its default gateway through its PRD connection, which is down, so it'll discard the packet.

What you need to do is create either multiple default gateways (one for each VMware connection/subnet). If you have a specific out-of-band management subnet where your vmotion connection will originate from, you can simply create specific static routes for that subnet on the VMware server pointing to the VMotion connection.

Thanks for the response. I'm going to describe the current networking setup within the VMWare host taken out of the VMWare Infrastructure Client.