Views
Helpful
Replies

CVP HTTP XML Query

Chad Stachowicz
Level 6
Level 6

Guys,

I am a bit new to CVP and I need a bit of guidance on how to do something. Basically I want to hit a webpage and pass the callers ANI to a URL as a parameter. (i.e. http://www.cisco.com?#callerid=4157681734) at this location is going to be some xml file that holds specific information for that caller. Is this something I need to do in java, or is there a specific VXML that will allow me to do this? Can someone enlighten me on their wisdom, in IP IVR I would know how to do this but VXML is a whole new ballgame. Thanks in advance!

Chad

8 Replies 8

Riccardo Bua
Level 5
Level 5

Hi Chad,

is this CVP standalone or you have deployed ICM as well?

Most of it would be available to you already in an ICM interaction with standard ICM scripting.

Regards,

Riccardo

I disagree with Riccardo - how would ICM do it?

With Studio you can do it with a custom Java component using Sun's JAXB - that's how I did it in CVP 3.0. Pretty sophisticated Java skills required.

If you control the Web server, you can also use the Action element set to use a URI - the documentation describes the format of the XML document passed from client to server and back.

With CVP 4.1, I believe you can use the new Web Service element, though I have not used it and don't know much about it.

Regards,

Geoff

Hi Geoff,

I don't disagree with you :-)))

I was saying you would hold the DNIS and use it for a DB lookup, it is basic ICM scripting, involving some Java component or XML datasheet would be lot more complicated as you were saying, hence the question wherever this was deployed with ICM.

Regards,

Riccardo

Hi,