Views
Helpful
Replies

General Question about route-maps and AD

jamesawoodward
Level 1
Level 1

Hello everyone,

I am studying for my CCNP and have had a few questions that have been helpfully answered by people here. I am very grateful that you all are here and that you share your expertise. So . . . thanks and cheers for that.

The question I have is this:

Why can a route-map not set the Administrative Distance? It seems like a very useful thing to be able to do, especially when redistributing between protocols. If I want to redistribute between RIP and OSPF, and I want to avoid sub-optimal routes, it seems that I have to configure both "distance" statements and "route-maps" to accomplish this.

Is there value to my question, to my desire to be able to combine the two actions into one route-map? Is there a good reason why AD cannot be set or changed within a route-map statement that I simply just don't know about? Or is this simply an unimportant side-note that I have grabbed on to but that really has no significance in the real world?

I appreciate any and all feedback!

Jim Woodward

5 Replies 5

jsivulka
Level 5
Level 5

Most OSPF networks also use RIP to communicate with hosts or to communicate with portions of the internetwork that do not use OSPF. Cisco supports both the RIP and OSPF protocols and provides a way to exchange routing information between RIP and OSPF networks.

Refer the url below for more information about "RIP and OSPF Redistribution":

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/internetworking/design/guide/nd2014.html

------------------------------------------------------

Thank you for replying, and thank you for the link. The redistribution described uses distribute lists to avoid routing loops . . . My question was actually whether it would be useful to be able to "set" the Administrative Distance via a route map when redistributing between protocols - or even in Policy Based Routing.