Study strategy for the CCIE Voice lab

Unanswered Question
Jun 30th, 2008

I started studying for the lab in May, was wondering if anyone could share their studying strategy. I started by ordering the vendor labs (IPexpert) and virtual rack time (Proctor Labs). Soon after, I realized that there really is no way to save your configurations for the CallManager or Unity or CRS, which is a problem since later lab modules require that everything before it to be built (how can you test gateways and gatekeepers without your dial plan that was built in the previous module.) If you want to work on trouble points in module 7, for instance, you are going to have to rebuild pretty much everthing in the previous 6 modules, which REALLY sucks. Has anyone else found this issue vexxing? The only thing I can imagine that will be a big help is the Multi-Protocol challenges (about 15 of them) that are self-contained and pretty much iterate the content of the first 15 modules.

If you are studying for this lab, how are you approaching it?

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
gpulos Tue, 07/01/2008 - 02:56

Hi Shikamaru,

You are correct in the fact that the ipexpert labs further down require some of the configuration of the previous labs.

Each lab outlines the tasks to be completed as well as the 'prerequisits', which are pieces of previous labs or entire previous labs be in place in order to accomplish the goal of that lab.

For example, Lab 7 has a prerequisite of Lab 1 be completed first.

Since Lab 7 only covers Catalyst & IOS conference bridges and transcoders as well as meet-me, ad-hoc conferencing and MOH, there is no need for a dial-plan to be tested.

You would not need to rebuild everything in the previous 6 labs as IPIPGW, Gatekeeper and Call Restrictions are not needed to be able to test results in Lab 7. (you will need lab 1 though as previously stated)