Cisco 3560 Switch problem

Unanswered Question
Jun 30th, 2008
User Badges:

HI,

We encounter a weird problem the other day. one of our 3560 switch got stucked. All interface activity leds suddently stopped went off. and the switch was not forwarding any traffic! after reload the problem was restored...after a week another one had the same problem...we send the show tech support to our dealer they said that they didnt find anything weird...what can you tell from this?

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Overall Rating: 4 (1 ratings)
Loading.
Pravin Phadte Tue, 07/01/2008 - 02:16
User Badges:
  • Silver, 250 points or more

Hi,


When was the show tech support removed.


When the problem was with the switch did you console and get the output or after the reboot ?


If possible can you attach the show tech output



Regards,


Pravin

mikebrsnet Tue, 07/01/2008 - 02:39
User Badges:

We couldnt console and we forced to pull the plug and plug in it again. AFter reboot we saw these


Cisco IOS Software, C3560 Software (C3560-IPBASE-M), Version 12.2(25)SEE3, RELEASE SOFTWARE (fc2)

Copyright (c) 1986-2007 by Cisco Systems, Inc.

Compiled Thu 22-Feb-07 14:40 by myl

Image text-base: 0x00003000, data-base: 0x00EB11A0


Initializing flashfs...


flashfs[1]: 402 files, 6 directories

flashfs[1]: 0 orphaned files, 0 orphaned directories

flashfs[1]: Total bytes: 32514048

flashfs[1]: Bytes used: 8159232

flashfs[1]: Bytes available: 24354816

flashfs[1]: flashfs fsck took 1 seconds.

flashfs[1]: Initialization complete....done Initializing flashfs.


front_end/ (directory)

extracting front_end/fe_type_1 (34696 bytes)

extracting front_end/fe_type_2 (54584 bytes)

extracting front_end/front_end_ucode_info (86 bytes)

extracting ucode_info (76 bytes)

POST: CPU MIC register Tests : Begin

POST: CPU MIC register Tests : End, Status Passed


POST: PortASIC Memory Tests : Begin

POST: PortASIC Memory Tests : End, Status Passed


POST: CPU MIC PortASIC interface Loopback Tests : Begin

POST: CPU MIC PortASIC interface Loopback Tests : End, Status Passed


POST: PortASIC RingLoopback Tests : Begin

POST: PortASIC RingLoopback Tests : End, Status Passed


POST: PortASIC CAM Subsystem Tests : Begin

POST: PortASIC CAM Subsystem Tests : End, Status Passed


POST: PortASIC Port Loopback Tests : Begin

POST: PortASIC Port Loopback Tests : End, Status Passed


Waiting for Port download...Complete


cisco WS-C3560G-48TS (PowerPC405) processor (revision D0) with 118784K/12280K bytes of memory.

Processor board ID FOC1122ZACZ

Last reset from power-on

1 Virtual Ethernet interface

52 Gigabit Ethernet interfaces

The password-recovery mechanism is enabled.


512K bytes of flash-simulated non-volatile configuration memory.

Base ethernet MAC Address : 00:1C:0F:FE:6F:00

Motherboard assembly number : 73-10214-04

Power supply part number : 341-0107-01

Motherboard serial number : FOC112228F5

Power supply serial number : AZS111905FW

Model revision number : D0

Motherboard revision number : B0

Model number : WS-C3560G-48TS-S

System serial number : FOC1122ZACZ

Top Assembly Part Number : 800-26849-01

Top Assembly Revision Number : B0

Version ID : V03

CLEI Code Number : CNMWY00ARC

Hardware Board Revision Number : 0x09



Switch Ports Model SW Version SW Image

------ ----- ----- ---------- ----------

* 1 52 WS-C3560G-48TS 12.2(25)SEE3 C3560-IPBASE-M





Press RETURN to get started!


and in the phase of POST tests in PORTASIC CAM & PORT took a couple of minutes to pass it.


Pravin Phadte Tue, 07/01/2008 - 02:43
User Badges:
  • Silver, 250 points or more

Hi,


Seems no problem with the hardware after the reboot.


Any ios crash are been seen in #dir flash:


Also how is this switch connected in the network ?


Regards,


Pravin

mikebrsnet Tue, 07/01/2008 - 03:19
User Badges:

No crashinfo in flash.

This switch(1) is connected to another two switches one 7600(1) and another 3560(2), which the last connect to another 7600(2).

for example...


3560(1) <-trunk--> 3560(2)

|

7600(1) <-trunk--> 7600(2)


various vlans run through the network. this is a small partial of the network

Pravin Phadte Tue, 07/01/2008 - 03:32
User Badges:
  • Silver, 250 points or more

Hi,


Is this problem still going on or did it just occurred once ?


regards,


Pravin

mikebrsnet Tue, 07/01/2008 - 03:38
User Badges:

No this problem is fixed.But took our attention because two switches failed in the same problem. !

Pravin Phadte Tue, 07/01/2008 - 03:47
User Badges:
  • Silver, 250 points or more

Mostly these problems are due to hardware or software faults.


It can be also possible of loops or traffic on the link which might have made it go into a hanged state.


Since there is no ios crash i cant comment if there was any problem with software.


tell you the truth i am confused as much the way you are.


Next time if you need to get to the root cause try to console and get the logs from the switch. I feel there will will some output that can be questioned.


Regards

Pravin

mikebrsnet Tue, 07/01/2008 - 04:26
User Badges:

Its very weird indeed...although the temperature is high...i dont think that the cpu has crashed and created the problem...thanks for the reply i will monitor this switch and i will reply!

Actions

This Discussion