Passed CCNA, my advise

Unanswered Question
Jul 3rd, 2008

I passed the CCNA today (yay). This was my first attempt and for $250 I really didn't want to take it twice. I've been working with Cisco for a couple months now and found the exam both easy and very difficult.

For anyone looking for more information (I tried to find as much as I could while prepping), I used the following books:

- Cisco Press ICND 1 ( http://www.amazon.com/CCENT-ICND1-Official-Certification-Guide/dp/1587201828/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1215129720&sr=8-1 )

- Cisco Press ICND 2 ( http://www.amazon.com/ICND2-Official-Certification-640-816-640-802/dp/158720181X/ref=sr_1_8?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1215129720&sr=8-8 )

- CCNA Exam Cram Practice Questions by Jeremy Cioara ( http://www.amazon.com/CCNA-Practice-Questions-Exam-640-802/dp/0789737140/ref=pd_bbs_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1215129771&sr=8-2 )

- CBTNuggets ICND1 and ICND2 videos by Jeremy Cioara ( http://www.cbtnuggets.com/ )

I also picked up this book a few days before the exam so that I could reread parts I didn't feel completely comfortable with:

- CCNA Study Guide by Todd Lammle ( http://www.amazon.com/CCNA-Certified-Network-Associate-640-802/dp/0470110082/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1215129874&sr=1-2 )

I also bought two routers and one switch:

- 2621 router with 2 fastethernet ports (for testing NAT/DHCP over my home cable connection)

- 2620 router (connects to the 2621 with a 1T serial NIC for WAN topics)

- 3548 switch (kind of a waste, never really used it and the IOS was too old to support a lot of the commands in the books)