Views
Helpful
Replies

help with CUCM cluster design

rasmusan1
Level 1
Level 1

Hello

I am designing a CUCM 6.1 cluster with 2 CUCM 6.1 servers and a Unity server.

As I am new to clustered CUCM solutions, I have a few things that I am uncertain about, and hope that someone are willing to help me.

- I wan't to do some kind of load balancing on the 2 CUCM's, so that in the event of failure, only about 50% of my production is impaired. And as I have read in the SRND on CUCM 6.1, this scenario is possible - correct ?

- I would like to have redundant Voice Gateways. Like fx. 2x Cisco 2821, each with a PRI E1 ISDN module, and hereby routing calls through these 2 gateways. In the event of failure on one of the gateways, I would like to automaticly have all calls routed through the remaining gateway. But how do I do this and is it possible? Do I have to use the gatekeeper functionality.

- regarding codecs. I want to use G.711 internally on all sites, but on calls between sites, I want to use G.729. As I have heard, this consumes DSP resources on the voice gateway - is that correct ? and how many ?

Thanks in advance for any help

11 Replies 11

Chris Deren
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Yes, this is definitely supported, however since you only have 2 servers I would not recommand load balancing as one of your servers is the CM Publisher, I would recommand using the publisher as a backup to the primary call processing subscriber. How many phones is this environment going to have?

You can use redundant GWs for outbound calls by configuring Route Groups/Route Lists in such as way. No need for a GK.