cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cannot ping the other subnet

ingemartinez
Level 1
Level 1

Hello everybody, today i connect a lan with cisco 2600. conecting it to two switches, making 2 subnets, but i cannot ping to the router or to the other subnet. Could somebody help me? I'm studying to CCENT.

6 Replies 6

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Jorge

You have not given us much to work with and some additional details would be very helpful in our efforts to understand your situation and suggest solutions for your problem.

A good place to start would be to post the configuration of the router interfaces (and even better would be to post the entire router config).

In addition it would be good if you would post the output of show ip interface brief on the router.

We would also need to know how the router is connected to both switches. What port number on each switch is connected to the router and are the ports configured as access ports or as trunk ports. Then we would need to know about the ports where the PCs are connected. Are they access ports or trunk ports? What vlan do they belong to (and what vlan does the router port belong to)?

Finally we need to know how the PCs are configured: what IP address, what netmask, and what default gateway.

If we know these things we may be in a better position to understand your problem and to suggest a solution.

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

Another problem is i'm trying with Network Visualizer 5.0.

This is the interface brief:

Router(config)#show ip interface brief

^

% Invalid input detected at '^' marker.

Router(config)#exit

Router#show ip interface brief

Interface IP-Address OK? Method Status Protocol

FastEthernet0/0 10.87.200.1 YES manual up up

FastEthernet0/1 10.87.201.1 YES manual up up

Serial0/0 10.82.15.2 YES manual up up

Serial0/1 unassigned YES unset administratively down down

In the computers in the simulator i put, as requested from it:

pc ip: 10.87.200.10

subnet: 10.87.200.0