Views
Helpful
Replies

Developing web application for Cisco IP Phone 7975G

muzahidul_islam
Level 1
Level 1

Dear All,

I am fresh in Cisco Technology though I have some experiences in developing web applications for PCs in Java. Now I have to develop an interactive web application which will be called by the Cisco IP Phone 7975G from a web server. Therefore, I would like to make myself clear in the following few things:

1. Should I continue with Java or I should move to a scripting language like PHP?

2. How will Cisco IP Phone 7975G will communicate to the web server ?

3. In which flow should I start programming ?

4. How can I run and test a small program to see how it works?

You would be highly appreciated if you kindly can elaborately reply this mail.

Thanks for your time.

Sincerely,

M.Islam

6 Replies 6

msabir
Level 4
Level 4

1. If you already know Java, you should use it because SDK has sample code in Java, also with it you can use JTAPI for advance programming involving telephony features.

2. Phones communicate with a web server just like a browser communicates with it, except that instead of serving HTML web server serves XML (actual a subset of supported XML tags). Phones can pull a URL via a service subscribed to it, or optionally URLs/services can be pushed to phones.

3. Use JSP/Servlet/JSF together with AXL/SOAP and JTAPI. Always object oriented.

4. Look for sample applications in Cisco's SDK. There is also a book on it "Developing IP phone Services" by Cisco Press.

I can only back up msabir here. I have the book but if you look at the samples and read the guide, I don't think you need the book though.. it felt like a waste of money and time to me after I had already gone through some samples and read the guide. But perhaps if you go the reverse way you'll feel different.