cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Possible causes of a "race" condition on a 6509E Core Switch?

markmagruder
Level 1
Level 1

Version: 12.2(17d)SXB8

HW/FirmWare: 4.1/8.1(3)

I am investigating an incident described as a sudden occurrence of a "race" condition on a 6509E core switch. I'm an engineer but not a network engineer. I'm looking for answers and the right questions to ask the net-ops team.

I'm sure these questions beg more questions but here is a start.

1. Are 6509E devices prone to "sudden" race conditions?

2. Where are the device's error logs and command history logs stored?

3. What are the possible causes of a "race" condition in a 6509E Switch that is only stopped by powering down?

Any suggestions on what questions to ask or information to request?

thanks,

Mark

10 Replies 10

michaelchoo
Level 1
Level 1

What race condition are you referring to? Hardware-related or routing-related?

Good question. I don't know. The symptoms were no, or very very little, traffic was going through the switch. And two, the management console was non responsive. The fix was power down the switch, let traffic fail over to the "B" redundant switch. The "B" switch had no clue the primary switch/route path was not routing traffic.

This wasn't a race condition, as such. Race conditions happen when two threads or semaphores can only proceed when they acquire a resource the other has already secured.

You DID experienced a high-cpu condition, whose cause is yet unknown. More often than not this is caused by interrupt traffic (traffic hitting the CPU for one reason or another). When this happens, try consoling into the switch (Telnet/SSH will be unresponsive). Issue the command 'show process cpu' and see if that sheds some light.