Views
Helpful
Replies

trunk and access simultaneously

Jamesch85
Level 1
Level 1

Hello

I'm a little new to this whole switching and I want to learn, but I'm getting opposing opinions and examples.

So I'm working for a company where we have a distribution switch, in the config of which I have found this:

interface Port-channel14

description -> UBR001 7609 (core router)

no ip address

mls qos trust dscp

switchport

switchport access vlan 509

switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q

switchport mode access

So how come it is defined as access mode port, but dot1q trunk encapsulation is also defined?

(My colleagues who are present also don't understand this)

My other problem:

On an access switch we have this config:

interface FastEthernet1/10

switchport access vlan 99

switchport trunk native vlan 99

switchport mode trunk

switchport voice vlan 98

mls qos trust dscp

spanning-tree portfast

On this port we have a IP-phone with a possibly connected PC.

First of all http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/switches/lan/catalyst3750/software/release/12.2_25_sea/configuration/guide/swvoip.html#wp1030825 says that voice vlan can only be configured on access ports and this is a trunk port, isn't it? And what does "access vlan 99" command do here?

Thanks in advance

7 Replies 7

srue
Level 7
Level 7

you can define trunk encapsulation without making it a trunk port - likewise, you can define an access vlan even if its in trunk mode.

this port is definitely in trunk mode. i've never tried to attach a phone/pc to port that's been trunked like this, but here's what the config should look like:

switchport voice vlan 98

mls qos trust dscp

spanning-tree portfast

ie, you don't really need the trunk encapsulation set (though its not hurting) and you definitely don't need trunk mode on (at least with cisco ip phones).

Why is it any good to define access on a trunking port? Doesn't that limit the traffic to that one and only access vlan?

lee.reade
Level 4
Level 4

Hi,