wic-1adsl card connect to ISP

Answered Question
Jul 30th, 2008

Cisco 2651XM router

fitted with WIC-1ADSL interface card

as a newbie I've been unsuccessful in connecting to my ISP with the wic-1adsl card. Before coming here I've been trawling through cisco documents but I can't work out what the correct commands are for a successful connection. I confess I also don't know how to verify if I have a successful connection or not.

My wic card is present in the cli as interface ATM0/0.

Here are the details for connecting to my isp, who happens to be a very bog standard UK isp on a BT phone line. Thanks for any pointers.

Connection type: PPPoA

VPI value: 0

VCI Value: 38

Encapsulation type: VC-MUX (or VC based)

Modulation: G.DMT (or DMT)

Authentication type: CHAP (may be listed as "PAP or CHAP")

ADSL Username: username

ADSL Password: password

I have this problem too.
0 votes

Glad to hear. The issue with your FastEthernet 0/1 port interfering with your ADSL card sounds strange. There is no reason I can think of that would cause that. As with any ADSL setup, make sure you have filters on all other lines with the same number.

Please indicate that this question was solved and rate any post you felt was helpful.

Overall Rating: 5 (1 ratings)

Apply the following making changes for slot numbers and such.

interface ATM0/0

no ip address

dsl operating-mode auto

interface ATM0/0.1

pvc 0/38

encapsulation aal5mux ppp dialer

dialer pool-member 1

interface Dialer0

ip address negotiated (I am assuming)

encapsulation ppp

dialer pool 1

dialer-group 1

ppp authentication pap callin (substitute chap if necessary)

ppp pap sent-username YOURUSERNAME password YOURPASSWORD (adjust for chap if necessary)

This is a standard ADSL config. You will obviously need some NAT and routing to make this function for simple Internet access.

Hope this helps,

tonyspcrepairs Wed, 07/30/2008 - 16:40