cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

IPSec L2L Not Passing Traffic

pcaddict1
Level 1
Level 1

I am fairly new to the PIX and have spun my wheels long enough. I have a L2L VPN tunnel set up between a PIX 506 and a PIX 525. The PIX 506 is running 6.2(2) of the PIX OS and is the remote peer. The PIX 525 is running 7.2(3). The tunnel is up between the two peers so I know at least that portion is correct.

When I try to ping a host on the remote network, I can see decaps but no encaps on the remote PIX 506. If I run a debug icmp trace on the 506, I see the request coming in but no reply going out. I am also unable to ping the inside interface of the 506. I have also tried to use VNC to gain access to the remote PCs that have VNC installed and have no luck with that either. I also tried to SSH into the inside interface of the remote 506 and was also unsuccessful.

I am sure it is something simple but since I have spent a good amount of the afternoon on it, I can't seem to figure out what it is.

My config for the remote peer's PIX 506 is attached as I believe that is the problem child. I have cleaned the configuration of outside address info.

If you need additional info or clarification, please let me know.

8 Replies 8

Farrukh Haroon
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Config seems to be OK, if possible post the other PIX's config. And also debugs from the PIX 506:

debug crypto ipsec

debug crypto isakmp

Which IP are you trying to ping from?

Regards

Farrukh

Marwan ALshawi
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

try

crypto isakmp nat-traversal 20

Apparently, that command is not supported in version 6.2(2). I just get the usual keyword list after typing the command and pressing Enter.

Yes I think this is a 6.3.x and later feature.

However you only need this if there is NAT in the transit path. This can be seen from the isakmp phase 1 (exchange 3/4) debugs. Something like 'NAT matchines MINE HASH ...'

Regards

Farrukh

suresh555
Level 1
Level 1