cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

I am not an expert! -Problem

jleipert79
Level 1
Level 1

Our network is part of Verizon ATM Cloud - we have two remotes sites that work great they do not drop pings(1000 bytes) They each run on 1.5 ATM. At the Main site we have a DS3 10mb. that the two remotes come into. We also have going out 6mb PVC to out ISP. When we ping our ISP 1000(bytes)size or more we drop packets. Verizon already test the circuits (remotes sites) and my main circuit that goes into the ATm cloud. the ISP circuit that goes into the cloud did not get tested.because they have other customers on it. I feel like Verizon did everything they could. what should I do!?

6 Replies 6

m-haddad
Level 5
Level 5

Some ISPs implement a policy to drop ICMP packets larger than certain size. Also, some firwalls drop ICMP packets greater than certain packet size. Are you trying to ping the next hop on the 6Mbps PVC? Try to check with the ISP if they have this type of policy or if there is a firewall on the ISP sites (Which I doubt) dropping traffic.

Regards,

Yes- it's the next hop(ISP router) I was on the phone with them with the Verizon tech - The ISP tech did see the drops when he pinged my side. The ISP did not want to to test there DS3 circuit (pvc)because of other customers. he also checked out other settings and said everything looked ok. He also said that the router(isp router) was not picking up any errors. We also created a new PVC (assigned new vpi /vci) (i think i'm saying that write) And the errors were still there. Who should I start questioning verizon or isp.

Also my upload speeds are fast like 4.5mb and my download speed are slow 600k. wierd to me?

thanks again

Hello,