Does NVRAM get erased when a new image is loaded?

Answered Question
Aug 8th, 2008
User Badges:

Once I load a new image, I want to copy my current running config back. If I saved the running config to NVRAM, will it still be there after I install the new image? Or do I need to send it to a tftp?

Correct Answer by Pari Thiagasundaram about 8 years 10 months ago

It is always good to backup your config. You never know what would go wrong after an image upgrade :)


Check your config-register. If it is set to 0x2142, it will ignore the startup config. To answer your question, changing the image should not affect your startup config or your saved config.


Also try saving the running config to bootflash or flash drives that you might have in your switch/router.


Here is also a link on Software upgrade procedure if you are interested.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/routers/ps259/products_tech_note09186a00801fc986.shtml


Some software upgrades might even ask you if you want to erase flash before copying, doing so might even erase your saved config on flash.



Please rate post, if this helps.

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Overall Rating: 5 (1 ratings)
Loading.
Correct Answer
Pari Thiagasundaram Fri, 08/08/2008 - 11:44
User Badges:
  • Silver, 250 points or more

It is always good to backup your config. You never know what would go wrong after an image upgrade :)


Check your config-register. If it is set to 0x2142, it will ignore the startup config. To answer your question, changing the image should not affect your startup config or your saved config.


Also try saving the running config to bootflash or flash drives that you might have in your switch/router.


Here is also a link on Software upgrade procedure if you are interested.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/hw/routers/ps259/products_tech_note09186a00801fc986.shtml


Some software upgrades might even ask you if you want to erase flash before copying, doing so might even erase your saved config on flash.



Please rate post, if this helps.

Richard Burts Fri, 08/08/2008 - 11:47
User Badges:
  • Super Silver, 17500 points or more
  • Hall of Fame,

    Founding Member

  • Cisco Designated VIP,

    2017 LAN, WAN

James


This is essentially the same question as answered in the other thread that you posted. If the config is saved into NVRAM and then a new image is loaded, then the config should still be in NVRAM and should still be available.


However it provides a measure of safety if you will copy the config file before the maintenance starts. During the upgrade sometimes unexpected things happen, and sometimes people make mistakes that might impact things. So it would be advisable (but not absolutely required) if you would use TFTP to make a copy of the config before the maintenance begins.


HTH


Rick

nappyjim9 Fri, 08/08/2008 - 11:49
User Badges:

Thanks both of you. Sorry for double posting, I just needed to make sure I got an answer before end of business today.

Actions

This Discussion