cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Connectivity for SAN replication

bberry
Level 1
Level 1

I am a newbie in the SAN world so hope am asking the right questions.

We are looking into replacing our aging SAN. As part of the replacement, managemnt is thinking of placing a secondary SAN at one of our remote locations for backup & DR purposes.

My question revolves around providing connectivity between the two SANS. I have been asked to look into a dedicated point-to-point connection for the SAN replication. Not counting the actual SAN hardware, what other hardware would I need? Am I bacically building an independent network for this? Why this route instead of over our corporate WAN? Any good recommended reading for learning about the SAN world?

Brent

4 Replies 4

Michael Brown
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

For remote replication, there are 2 methods of providing SAN connectivity. If you have the need for high bandwidth, DWDM or CWDM are high bandwidth solutions. These technologies use fibre channel end to end.

You might be more interested in FCIP (fiber channel over IP). Depending on the bandwidth needed to keep within the allotted time for the replication, FCIP offers all kinds of enhancements. Compression and encryption are options for FCIP. There is also write acceleration as an option, if its compatible with your replication application.

Here is a link to some FCIP scenarios.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk571/tk751/tsd_technology_support_protocol_home.html

Here is a link on DWDM for SAN extension.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/prod/collateral/optical/ps5725/ps2011/prod_white_paper0900aecd80181093.html

Hope this helps,

Mike

plowden
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi, Brent,

I agree with Mike. I originally posted this before I saw his reply.

Here are a couple of good Cisco-specific document to start with:

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/solutions/ns340/ns517/ns224/ns378/net_design_guidance0900aecd800ed146.pdf

http://www.cisco.com/go/storage