Views
Helpful
Replies

Newbie stack/vlan question

huwyhuwy123
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

We've bought 9x 3750s to setup for a new office. We will be stacking them but I've also been asked to setup VLANs (see attachment). So I wanted to know:-

a) Is this a good idea on a stacked system and,

b) will it be difficult to implement.

I'd be grateful for any comments - I am new to this! Am more than happy to provide more info if needed.

-H

7 Replies 7

andrew.prince
Level 10
Level 10

a) Althought they are 9 physical switches, they are 1 logical switch from a config point of view.

b) No

The VLAN setup you have - indicates that each switch is a single point of failure for a specific vlan number/ip subnet. Perhaps not the best way to go about it in my opinion.

Perhaps you might consider 3 switches in a stack group, that are connected via redundant fibre trunk links.

Then assign specific ports into the relevant VLAN's.

HTH>

Thanks for coming back. I wanted to clairfy a couple of things.

Given that the 9 switches are 1 logical switch from a config point of view is it possible to set each one up with VLANs as described?

Do you think there will be a performance benefit of having mulitple VLANs - or do you think just 1 voice and 1 data VLAN will suffice?

Is the benefit of the "3 switches in a stack group" configuration you propose to tolerate a switch failure?

Appreciate you help with this.

-H

Given that the 9 switches are 1 logical switch from a config point of view is it possible to set each one up with VLANs as described? Yes - you would create the vlans on the master switch. The assign the relevant interfaces into the speicifc VLAN you want.

Do you think there will be a performance benefit of having mulitple VLANs - or do you think just 1 voice and 1 data VLAN will suffice? - for eas of troubleshooting - data vlan and voice vlan. If that is all you have keep it simple. if you have to segregate inter-vlan traffic, then do so.