cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Add a extension with Voice mail without dedicated phone?

carbonscoring
Level 1
Level 1

Hi I'm new to the IP telephony world we have a current Call Manager 6.1.2.1000. I have an employee that does not have an office. Can I create a DN and have the rest of the office staff call that number to leave messages and have the employee check the number from various phones without associating. Do I need to associate it to a phone even though she has no dedicated phone?

thanks,

Mike

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Hey Marwan,

Hope all is well :) (Great job here by the way!)

Yes, the DN assigned to the CTI-RP will match in Unity or Unity Connection. She will just call the Unity/UC pilot # (Opening Greeting) Press * and should be good to go. Also, as Jaime nicely noted you could configure an Alternate Extension for her Mobile or Home number that would be recognised by Unity and route her right through to her own mailbox. In the newest Unity version 7.0, if she was calling from the same Office phone over and over again this could become a "learned" extension (sorry, can't remember the actual feature name right now :)and offer the same behaviour.

Hope this helps buddy!

Rob

View solution in original post

Hi Mike,

No worries! Please try to use this method to completely remove this DN before trying again.

**Remove this DN from all phones first;

Can you please try this method via the Route Plan Report;

Deleting Unassigned Directory Numbers