Views
Helpful
Replies

Deploying Active/Active FWSM in Transparent mode

aadeoye
Level 1
Level 1

Hello everyone,

I am aware that this question has been asked in several formats before. I have read through some of the previous postings and the documentation as well. However, since I am new to this, I thought it best to submit a new posting.

I have two FWSMs in two 6509 switches . Each SVI on the 6509 uses GLBP for NHRP and load balancing. My goal with the FWSMs is to provide firewalling services as seamlessly as possible between hosts in the different subnets. The 6509s are being used solely as Services Switches so most or all of the communicating hosts are servers.

I believe the transparent mode using multiple contexts will work best in this scenario. Some contexts may have multiple VLANs (servers performing the same function) so I will need multiple BVIs in each context. (I think up to 8 are allowed). I will also like to implement Active/Active Load Balancing and failover between the FWSMs.

Here's what I want to clarify:

1. For every user VLAN, I have to define another VLAN that will be used to bridge traffic between the hosts and the MSFC. Is this accurate? Does this VLAN need an SVI on the switch?

2. The examples in the configuration guide use HSRP. Is there an issue with using GLBP?

Thanks for your help.

12 Replies 12

Marwan ALshawi
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

generally when u configure FWSM in a routed mode with multiple contexts we can use one outside vlan that has an SVI on the fwsm this outside vlan called in this case shared outside interface between contexts

BUT

with trransparante mode this is NOT applicale

so in your case u need a sprate outside vlan interfaces assigned to firewall-vlan group and created on the switch as well

and in trasnparante mode the firewall will not be the defaultgate way because it will act as layer two device