CCIE voice do I stand a chance ...

Unanswered Question
Sep 6th, 2008

I have 7 years of experience dealing with cisco switches, routers, firewall and linux, I passed the CCNP in 2005 and the CCVP in 2008 (hard study, no braindump ....). I currently work for a Internet service provider so I deal on a daily basis with switching, routing and connectivity issues. My problem as you can see I don't have any experience or exposure to IP communication. I'm in the process of building a ccie voice LAB at home (without 6503 and VG248), and rent a virtual lab to train my self with the techno I don't have in my lab.

I know CCIE is not a peace of cake, do I stand a chance of becoming a CCIE by using my home lab + rented Lab + of course HARD WORK ? or is that simply mission impossible if you don't work at all in the VOIP industry on a daily basis?

I know some would suggest to leave my current job and try to find a junior IPT role, but I can't afford a pay cut.

thanks in advance.

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 4.7 (3 ratings)
Richard Burts Sat, 09/06/2008 - 09:01

If the question is do you stand a chance of achieving CCIE Voice although you do not work in that industry, then I would say that yes you stand a chance. It will be quite difficult. But adequate study and adequate practice with equipment (your own and rented) can lead you to this accomplishment. It would be easier if you work with the technology on a regular basis, but not working with it does not preclulde your ability to learn it.

rob.huffman Sat, 09/06/2008 - 09:46

Hi Kaine,

I agree with my friend Rick here! +5 points Rick for the good advice :)