Views
Helpful
Replies

OSPF query

nik876159
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

I am new to OSPF.Can somebody tell me how OSPF multiple area concept works. As per the theory, multiple areas wont be having identical database. Each area will have a locally significant database giving more importance for local area networks. But when I connected 2 areas( say 1, 2) and connected them using area 0 I can see the routes of area 1 in area 2 . How is this possible? Will the area continue to have the routes of the other areas, but only difference is in LSA received ?

Thanks in Advance

Raj

4 Replies 4

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Raj

Perhaps we need to refine your understanding of how the OSPF database works and of the different kinds of OSPF routes.

The foundation of this understanding are the LSA types. While there are quite a number of LSA types for this discussion we need to understand only type 1, type 2, and type 3.

Type 1 and type 2 LSAs are generated by routers within the local area. Type 1 and type 2 LSAs are used in the calculation of the Dijkstra (Shortest Path First) algorithm. And the result of the calculation of type 1 and type 2 are the intra area routes which in the routing table show up as O routes.

Type 3 LSAs show what is advertised from other areas (the result of type 1 and type 2 of the other area). And type 3 LSAs result in inter area routes which in the routing table show up as O IA routes. An important aspect of type 3 LSA is that OSPF can process these and update the routing table without having to do a full SPF calculation.