Views
Helpful
Replies

Question on throttling traffic on 3845

pipsadmin
Level 1
Level 1

Is thbis possible?

I have 3845 and the traffic outbound is email and web. When a spike in traffic happens for email, the web is naturaly slowed down. Is there a way to throttle the mail outbound traffic so that the web inbound traffic is not too much affected?

The link to the ISP is FastE 50mb

The internal interface is setup as HSRP and wan side is BGP.

Thanks

14 Replies 14

John Blakley
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

I'm not an expert by any means, but you may want to look into QoS and prioritization.

--John

HTH, John *** Please rate all useful posts ***

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Outbound, yes. Normally your options are to shape, rate-limit or prioritize.

If you have a FastEthernet connection, but the ISP is only providing 50 Mbps, if you don't already have a shaper, that alone might help you.

Try:

fastethernet #

traffic-shape rate 45000000

The above can be tuned, or we can get more involved using CBWFQ.

Where can I get more details on the options available to me?

The QoS section of the configuration guide for your IOS would be a good place to start.

E.g.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/docs/ios/qos/configuration/guide/12_4/qos_12_4_book.html

so what would be the best option to take for this:

we have bursts of SMPT traffic going outbound.

When this bursts happens, the inbound HTTP is considerably slowed down and in some cases the HTTP is timing out.

What QoS, if any, is configured now? If none, did you try the shaper from my first post?

If the shaper alone doesn't cure the problem, I would next deprioritize SMTP, if you're positive it's the cause of your slow downs.

e.g.

class-map match-any Background

match protocol smtp

policy-map Yourname

class Background

bandwidth percent 1

class class-default

fair-queue

policy-map Shaper

class class-default

shape average percent 45

service-policy Yourname

interface FastEthernet#/#