Views
Helpful
Replies

Layer 2 - Access Lists

thestagman
Level 1
Level 1

Hi everyone.

I'm trying to find out how I can configure a "MAC Access-list" to allow only HP Devices through a switch port.

I have never used this feature before and cannot seem to find any examples of how to do it ..

Can anyone help ?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

To be honest I have never tried to block only part of a MAC address, but I suppose it's possible.

I would try something like:-

mac access-list ext filtermac

permit host 001b.38FF.FFFF any

As the f = broadcast = does not matter, try it out on a non-production switch port with a test HP NIC on it?

HTH>

View solution in original post

10 Replies 10

thestagman
Level 1
Level 1

Sorry this is beinf done on Cisco 2960 & 3750 switches.

cheers

Mike,

I would config something like:-

permit host 0000.0000.0001 any

permit host 0000.0000.0002 any

permit host 0000.0000.0003 any

HTH>

Hi Andrew

Thanks for the reply. But I need to allow any HP device only and block the rest.

permit host 001b.38xx.xxxx any

Something like above. I'm unsure of the syntax or if it can be done ?

To be honest I have never tried to block only part of a MAC address, but I suppose it's possible.

I would try something like:-

permit host 001b.38FF.FFFF any

As the f = broadcast = does not matter, try it out on a non-production switch port with a test HP NIC on it?

HTH>

Hi

I have just tried that with no luck using a Dell Laptop. I have also tried it with zeroes as well with no luck.

mac access-list extended DELLONLY

permit host 0015.c5ff.ffff any

If I specify the full mac address it works no problem.. But I need to find a way to only allow HP Laptops which will mean wildcarding out a portion of the mac address ..

OK - then I would turn logging on a debugging and see what is going on, and refine the ACL that way?

HTH>

Hello Andrew