Views
Helpful
Replies

FWSM InterContext Connection

griever060684
Level 1
Level 1

Hi Guys,

It is my first time to inquire on the Cisco NetPro Forums.



I am currently having a problem with one of my set-up in our production environment. Let me first start by describing the set-up of the network infrastructure. I have a two context firewall deployed on our Edge Router Cisco 7609. One context is deployed to cater the DMZ requirement of our network and the other context is allocated to filter incoming traffic from the internet. (Please see attached Powerpoint Document)

A server from the DMZ needs to be accessed from the internet and vice versa. The local address of this server is being translated into a public IP on the firewall context that is catered to filter WWW traffic (WWW Firewall Context).

Problem is that I am unable to successfully connect to the internet using this set-up. I have checked the routing and have verified that I have a complete path going to the vlan interface of WWWFirewall Context. However I am not able to see any traffic hitting my WWWFirewall Context coming from my local address (10.10.10.10).

12 Replies 12

Farrukh Haroon
VIP Alumni
VIP Alumni

Is there a route on the WWW FW Context and the MSFC for the 10.10.10.10 host?

Can you ping 10.10.10.10 from the WWW FW Context?

Regards

Farrukh

Hi,

Yes I can reach the server 10.10.10.10 from the WWWFW context. I can also ping the FW contex from the 10.10.10.10 host.

I believe that the routing is not an issue anymore since I have set the default routes on th DMZFW context pointing to the MFSC, and the MSFC by default is routing going to the WWWFW Context.

From the WWWFW context, I have 10.10.10.0/24 route pointing to the MSFC (10.10.2.33) and an entry in the MSFC for pointing 10.10.10.0/24 to the DMZFW context.

Might there be an issue on my natting on the WWWFW Context? Because right now, I am mapping 10.10.10.10 to 200.200.30.5. exact entry is