cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Expanding Fabric

dseagren1
Level 1
Level 1

I'm fairly new to SAN switch configuration so hopefully I don't come off as an idiot.

Our current environment consists of two 9513s that are totally independent of each other. Each has multiple connections to a CX3-80. We are adding a CX4 in a different building (fiber between buildings) and have purchased two 9134s to put in the new building with the new CX4. I guess my question is what is the best configuration of topology to make that:

-allows storage arrays connected to the 9513s to be able to communicate with storage arrays connected to the 9134s.

-provides the easiest management

Lastly i'm a little confused about exactly what happens when you create an ISL link between two switches. for example if i connected one of the new 9134s to an existing 9513 would it immediately create one fabric?

Thanks

7 Replies 7

inch
Level 3
Level 3

Hi,

First of all you will need to know the distance and type of fibre optic cables between the two rooms to ensure you have the correct optics for the cable/distance.

Second, are you going to be using the 10gb connections for some 4gb connections?

If you are using some 4gb connections i suggest you bundle at least two (pref 3) ports into what is called a port-channel. A port channel aggregates multiple ports into one for performance and redundancy.

Create a new VSAN for trunking traffic to the new switch (this way you can slowly migrate vsan's across the new switch)

Ensure your 9513 has its switch priority set so it will always be the principal switch.

To you last question, depending on VSAN's configured and switch priority it would create "one fabric".

If you want a diagram to make this any clearer let me know.

Cheers