Hardware in Ebay

Unanswered Question
Oct 18th, 2008

Hi all!

I'm currently studying ccna, and Im thingking of buying cisco hardware on ebay. What do you think is the best hardware that I can buy to for my CCNA studies?

Note: I already have boson simulator. But I want to have a real hardware to work with.

Thank you very much!!!

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 5 (3 ratings)
tim.giles Mon, 10/20/2008 - 00:47

It all depends on your budget I guess?

Dynagen (terminal emulator) is by far the best option for playing with routers and switches but obviously there's nothing like the real thing!

In terms of routers, 2600's are cheap now and will future-proof you till CCNP if you want to carry on. They are modular as well so you can swap cards to test different things (frame relay etc.).

You can use 2900 switches to test VLANS and trunking etc. If you can afford 2950's, then go for these!

This should do you to start with, you can extend your lab though, it all depends on your budget.

Like I said, you can do most of this with Dynamips but you probably want to get some hands on experience..

Please rate useful posts..

Urfan Khaliq Tue, 10/21/2008 - 07:19

I'm looking to buy kit for my bsci exam. Thinking three 2611's?? Seen as they going for 25ish on fleabay. Thoughts ppl? I do have dynamips but my laptop is slow so thought about 100 quid should get me three 2600s that I could use to practise routing with. Can anyone suggest anything else within the budget or whether it's even worth it? Thanks

tperrier Wed, 10/22/2008 - 00:43

> The 2611's can't do OSPFv3 so that could be an issue.

Actually, they can, but you must TFTP boot them using a 2600 XM IOS, and have 64 MB installed (the maximum possible). It works with a 12.2T IOS, however you can no longer download old releases like this directly from Cisco's site. It may work with 12.3, I don't remember ; but more recent XM releases need too much memory and won't boot successfully.