Medium Sized Grade School to go wireless...

Unanswered Question
Oct 20th, 2008

First of all let me say thank you for taking the time to read this.

This is my first time dealing with a wireless network larger than the range of a single building.

Currently we have 165 computers on our network, 144 of which are wired connections. The other 21, because of their place on campus are connected with one of three WRT110's acting as WAP's.

Our switches are filled, and it is time to either buy another, or take the direction wireless. After long discussion, as long as the price is not astronomical, we have decided that taking the campus in its first real step towards wireless is the way to go.

I am working on getting the actual dimensions needed for coverage, but as a visual, I'd say one and a half to two football fields long, and one to one and a half football fields wide.

The goal is to have any new computers join the domain wirelessly. What would be the best solution or (if you can't offer a solution) the best direction to take this. Is there a single wireless switch with a few boosters and a few access points to solve our problem?

Please note: security is not currently a major concern of ours and the capability of a simple mac filter will suffice for now. (Small private school)

Again thank you for any suggestions you may have.

-Kris "Techahashi"

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 4 (3 ratings)
Techahashi Wed, 10/22/2008 - 05:07

Maybe I should be more specific- what pieces of hardware should I look to buy from cisco to accomplish coverage of the area specified (keeping in mind there will be few wireless users to begin with but will eventually grow to somewhere around 100).

Again thank you.

gamccall Wed, 10/22/2008 - 13:15