cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

how to use Connection Rate Limit rule type...

linnea.wren
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

Extreme newbie here with CSA...

We have problems with excessive connections to our web server - The web server guy says the box gets brought to its knees with the sheer volume.

So we'd like to set a threshold, and block connection to IIS for IPs that exceed the threshold.

I was looking at the Connection Rate Limit type rule, trying to figure out if that's what it does, or if I could create a new Connection Rate Limit rule that did this.

Suppose the defaults:

Applications ............ = Apache... and IIS... (built in definitions

Attempt to act .......... = server

Net Services ............ = $UDP and $TCP (built in)

Communicating with ...... = specific

hosts having addresses .. = all

local interfaces ........ = all

over limit .............. = 100 (connections)

in ...................... = 5 (minutes)

Does that cause connection #101 and up from IP address 10.10.10.5 to ANY port to be denied?

Or, connection #101 and up from IP address 10.10.10.5 to any GIVEN port to be denied?

Would people mostly confine this to port 80? Or do people generally just go with the default ports?

Any thoughts/suggestions/direction most sincerely appreciated...

Linnea

5 Replies 5

tsteger1
Level 8
Level 8

If these connections are from specific hosts (I'd check the hosts if you can) the default rule for IIS and Apache should suffice.

The rule causes any subsequent connections from specific hosts to IIS and Apache above the specified rate to be denied.

It will still allow connections from other hosts.

If these are from different hosts, you'd want to create an allow rule that only allows up to a specific number of connections from all hosts.

Tom

Hey...

Thanks. Two more questions -

1. If you limit connections per minute from all hosts, legitimate traffic could be blocked - Right?