cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Routes not being created properly

cgbuskirk
Level 1
Level 1

I am rather new to setting up firewalls. I have an ASA 5510 that I am setting up currently to block all non-web traffic on our firewall except from our office.

I have configured the interfaces but when I run "show route" it only shows the inside route. I have been unable to get any data to pass through the firewall even when I had set the access list to allow all traffic from all sources. There is a small 8 address network on the outside interface connecting to our hosting company. Inside is a public class C. All address are valid Public IPs.

Relevant excerpts From my current config:

interface Ethernet0/0

nameif outside

security-level 0

ip address x.x.226.170 255.255.255.248

!

interface Ethernet0/1

nameif inside

security-level 50

ip address x.x.255.2 255.255.255.0

access-list outside_access_in extended permit ip host x.x.14.30 any

access-list outside_access_in extended permit icmp any any

access-list outside_access_in extended permit tcp any any eq www

access-group outside_access_in in interface outside

route outside 0.0.0.0 0.0.0.0 x.x.226.168 1

When I run the "Show route" command all I get is :

C x.x.255.0 255.255.255.0 is directly connected, inside

There is no mention of the default route or the network connected to the outside interface.

Any help would be greatly appreciated

Thank you,

Chris Buskirk

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Chris

This can't be the default-gateway because that is the subnet address. So the actual gateway address would have to come from

x.x.226.169 - 174

and you have already used .170 on your ASA outside interface.

Also what is your NAT setup. Lets say you have a server on the inside

195.177.22.10 and you want to give access to this you need the following line in your config

static (inside,outside) 195.177.22.10 195.177.22.10 netmask 255.255.255.255