BGP:session reset vs neighbor shutdown

Answered Question
Nov 5th, 2008

What's the difference between shutting down a neighbor, and clearing the session (hard/soft way)? Don't they both reset BGP neighborship?

Are there specific uses of each methods?

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Correct Answer by Giuseppe Larosa about 8 years 2 months ago

Hello Wassim,

if you use neigh shutdown you are tearing down the session for all the time this command is in your running config.

This allows to keep the configuration of a BGP neighbor for some time instead of deleting the config with no neigh x.x.x.x remote-as

clearing the BGP session is instead a reset of the session but with the will to restart it as soon as possible

Hope to help

Giuseppe

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Overall Rating: 4 (1 ratings)
Loading.
Correct Answer
Giuseppe Larosa Wed, 11/05/2008 - 12:45

Hello Wassim,

if you use neigh shutdown you are tearing down the session for all the time this command is in your running config.

This allows to keep the configuration of a BGP neighbor for some time instead of deleting the config with no neigh x.x.x.x remote-as

clearing the BGP session is instead a reset of the session but with the will to restart it as soon as possible

Hope to help

Giuseppe

Actions

This Discussion