cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

WLAN Design

bhoops
Level 1
Level 1

I've inherited our current WLAN that consists of two identically configured 1121 APs in separate buildings. Authentication is WPA-TKIP PSK that requires manual configuration of all devices. Guest access is handled through a separate VLAN that has ACLs that restrict traffic from the rest of the network, authentication is WPA-TKIP PSK. The SSID determines what VLAN they connect to.

We also have a point-to-point connection using two 1310 bridges that is secured by WPA-AES CCM+TKIP and MAC authentication.

We recently purchased a Secure ACS Express 5.0 and will be purchasing 3 additional APs.

My question is, what is the best way to clean up our WLAN, increase security and manageability, and preferably provide 0-configuration wireless access to guests and employees? I'm guessing a WLC is going to be required, but since I have very little wireless design experience I want to have this done right.

The vast majority of our wireless clients are laptops using Window's wireless configuration, but we also have several smart-phones, several iPhones, a few MacBooks, and no Blackberries.

Network users should authenticate with their domain credentials, and guests should not have to authenticate (or cancel out of a prompt).

Thanks for any assistance you can provide.

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

jeff.kish
Level 7
Level 7

Upgrading to lightweight controllers is a great way to improve scalability of your network. They provide a single point of configuration for your APs and allow for Radio Resource Management, which dynamically adjusts your radios for optimum performance.