Views
Helpful
Replies

ip address and switchport basic question

dan_track
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

I'd like to configure an ip address on my 3750-E ethernet switchport but I'd like that traffic to be entered into vlan 12. I can think of two ways to do this, they are:

Method 1:

conf t

int vlan 12

Description P2P WAN link

ip adddress 10.0.0.1 255.255.255.252

exit

interface gi1/0/48

Description WAN link plugged here

switchport trunk encapsulation dot1q

switchport mode trunk

exit

Method 2:

conf t

int gi 1/0/48

ip address 10.0.0.1 255.255.255.252

switchport acces vlan 12

exit

Since I'm not an expert, could someone please tell me which way is better? and what is wrong in the above and how to improve it?

Thanks

Dan

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Dan

A switchport functions at layer 2 so your second config isn't right ie. it should be

conf t

int gi 1/0/48

no switchport

exit

this makes it a routed port but then this is not tying it to vlan 12. So option 1 is the one to go with.

Jon

View solution in original post

Sorry Dan, didn't mean to overload you :-)

SVI = Switch Virtual Interface

or more simply, when you configure a vlan interface on a L3 switch the vlan interface is an SVI eg.

int vlan 12

ip address x.x.x.x x.x.x.x

If both WAN links are L2 then connect them both into the switch, allocate both ports to vlan 12 eg.

int gi1/0

switchport access vlan 12

and then create L3 SVI for vlan 12 as above.

One thing though. You would be better connecting WAN links into separate switches if possible as the switch is now a single point of failure. If 3750 then a second switch in the stack would do as well.

Jon

View solution in original post

9 Replies 9

Jon Marshall
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Dan

A switchport functions at layer 2 so your second config isn't right ie. it should be

conf t

int gi 1/0/48

no switchport

exit