In LMS 3.1, devices deleted in RME not removed from DCR

Unanswered Question
Nov 17th, 2008

Under LMS 3.1, I noticed that devices I delete in RME via the Pre-Deployed Devices screen or the Alias Devices screen come back after the daemon manager is stopped and restarted. Is this the intended behavior? If I remove one of these devices via the Device Management screen it does not reappear.

I have this problem too.
0 votes
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
Joe Clarke Mon, 11/17/2008 - 16:00

Yes, this is expected. Removing devices from RME does not remove them from DCR. If you want to get rid of a device completely, explicitly remove it from DCR.

pblanc Tue, 11/18/2008 - 05:53

Thank you for the info. Under LMS 2.6, when I deleted from RME, it was gone forever. Now when we occasionally encounter aliased devices (we have 5,000 devices), then deleting from RME is useless because they will come back after a re-start. I think I like the old behavior much better. Thanks again for the insight.

Joe Clarke Tue, 11/18/2008 - 09:10

This was not the case. The same behavior exists in LMS 2.6. When a device is deleted from RME, it is only deleted from RME. This allows other applications to continue to manage the device.

pblanc Tue, 11/18/2008 - 09:56

Maybe that's the way it is supposed to work, but our systems do not behave that way. I have been using LMS 2.2 and 2.6 systems for almost 2 years and both do the same thing. After I delete a device in RME, it never returns when I restart the daemons.

Joe Clarke Tue, 11/18/2008 - 10:02

RME 3.5, yes. There was no DCR in that release. In RME 4.0, a device deleted from RME would still remain in DCR. It could then be re-synced from DCR after being deleted from RME.


This Discussion