cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Cisco IOS

ichigo1661
Level 1
Level 1

I'm very new to cisco worlds...I just bought cisco 851 router but I can't get my hyperterminal to display anything. I have tried using teraterm and it still the same. What I did was I plug in the light blue cable(looks like RJ45) to console port on the router and use usb(usb to serial) cable to plug in the serial port to my laptop. The hyperterminal is set to 9600 bps, data bits = 8, Parity = None, Stop Bits = 1 and Flow Control = None. Both (hyperterminal and tera term) show that i was connected but nothing display on the screen. Just white screen only. Can someone help me?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi ichigo,

Regarding the reset button :-

Q. What is the use of the reset button on Cisco 870 and 850 Series routers?

A. The reset button is used to restore the router to the default factory settings if pressed within 5 seconds of router power up. In line with this implementation, the following scenarios are possible:

• The router will not react to the reset button if pressed after the 5 seconds of power up.

• When the reset button is pressed within 5 seconds of boot up and there is no valid xxx.cfg file in the flash memory, the router boots up with the factory defaults.

• When the reset button is pressed within 5 seconds of boot up and there is a valid xxx.cfg file in the flash, the router boots up with the xxx.cfg file and avoids the startup-config file in NVRAM.

(taken from the FAQ for the router on the Cisco website)

The IP address change was definitely what disconnected you from the router, as your telnet client was no longer able to communicate with the IP address you were connected to any more.