cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

What happens when no content filters have a final action?

Donald Nash
Level 3
Level 3

What happens when none of the content filters enabled for a particular policy have final actions? Is the default final action to deliver the message after applying all the relevant non-final actions? This is how it works for message filters, but I'm still learning the ropes for content filters (they didn't exist when I started using AsyncOS, and I ignored them for a long time). Amazingly enough, the documentation doesn't explicitly explain this situation, at least not that I could find. Maybe I just didn't read the right place.

Thanks,

4 Replies 4

martinc8306
Level 1
Level 1

It does not look like you can define a content filter without applying a final action, when attempting to Submit with no final action you get the error "Error — Please add at least one action"

This seems to be the same trend for a regular expression filter via the CLI

Donald Nash
Level 3
Level 3

It does not look like you can define a content filter without applying a final action

Keep in mind what a final action is: bounce(), deliver(), or drop(). I already have several content filters which lack one of these actions, which results in the message cascading into the next matching filter. What you can't create is a filter which lacks any actions at all.

I think I've answered my own question. Without an explicit bounce(), deliver(), or drop(), the message is processed by all matching filters and then delivered.

Bart_ironport
Level 1
Level 1

I think I've answered my own question. Without an explicit bounce(), deliver(), or drop(), the message is processed by all matching filters and then delivered.