Logging options

Unanswered Question
Nov 28th, 2008


I use Cisco 857 routers for internet access.

I want to use logging to keep a record of when the internet connection is active, so that if there is a problem when I am not around, I can look back through the log, and identify whether the internet connection was functioning correctly.

I am not familiar with the logging options, is there a simple way to do this?



I have this problem too.
0 votes
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Overall Rating: 0 (0 ratings)
nickc1976 Fri, 11/28/2008 - 07:02


Here is the output of my show logging command:

Router#show logging

Syslog logging: enabled (1 messages dropped, 0 messages rate-limited,

0 flushes, 0 overruns, xml disabled, filtering disabled)

No Active Message Discriminator.

No Inactive Message Discriminator.

Console logging: level critical, 0 messages logged, xml disabled,

filtering disabled

Monitor logging: level debugging, 0 messages logged, xml disabled,

filtering disabled

Buffer logging: level debugging, 90 messages logged, xml disabled,

filtering disabled

Logging Exception size (4096 bytes)

Count and timestamp logging messages: disabled

Persistent logging: disabled

Trap logging: level debugging, 94 message lines logged

Log Buffer (51200 bytes):

lejoe.thomas Fri, 11/28/2008 - 16:08


You'll need to configure the router for Syslog, which allows for logging messages to be sent a syslog server, which stores these messages and makes it easier for troubleshooting.


Assuming you have syslog (kiwi Syslog) running on a windows machine or a syslog daemon on UNIX in your network (X.X.X.X), configure logging on the 857


host - syslog server address

logging trap

level - limits the messages logged on to the system, such as debugging, informational etc.



johnlloyd_13 Sat, 11/29/2008 - 02:59

if you just want to enable local logging, go to global config mode and issue the logging buffered command. our routers are configured this way as an example:

logging buffered 4096 debugging

4096 is the minimum bytes configured and debugging is equal to level 7, which will include all syslogs from 0-6.


This Discussion