Views
Helpful
Replies

Multicast troubleshooting

mehsulsss
Level 1
Level 1

He everyone,

I am new to multicast and have a question regarding receiving the multicast. what is the easiest way to figure out if the data is being sent by the source or not. Any tips will be a big help.

Regards

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

mihanlin
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

To troubleshoot multicast, I have found the "show ip mroute count" command is a good place to start.

When you do this command, you will see the multicast groups, and statistics for the source address - which you mention you want to check.

Looking at the line beginning with "Source", you can see the forwarding statistics for the group. They are separated by "/" and are as follows:

Sent Packet Count/Packets sent per second/Avg Pkt Size/Kilobits per second

An example is below:

show ip mroute count

IP Multicast Statistics

2 routes using 1714 bytes of memory

1 group, 0.50 average sources per group

Forwarding Counts: Pkt Count/Pkts per second/Avg Pkt Size/Kilobits per second

Other counts: Total/RPF failed/Other drops(OIF-null, rate-limit etc)

Group: 224.12.12.12, Source count: 1, Packets forwarded: 4, Packets received: 4

Source: 10.1.1.4/32, Forwarding: 4/1/100/0, Other: 4/0/0

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

mihanlin
Level 1
Level 1

Hello,

To troubleshoot multicast, I have found the "show ip mroute count" command is a good place to start.

When you do this command, you will see the multicast groups, and statistics for the source address - which you mention you want to check.

Looking at the line beginning with "Source", you can see the forwarding statistics for the group. They are separated by "/" and are as follows:

Sent Packet Count/Packets sent per second/Avg Pkt Size/Kilobits per second

An example is below:

show ip mroute count

IP Multicast Statistics

2 routes using 1714 bytes of memory

1 group, 0.50 average sources per group