cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

TIP: How to LDAP deny disabled AD accounts

mgraci_ironport
Level 1
Level 1

Ironport LDAP queries will successfully lookup SMTP addresses of disabled AD accounts. For companies that disable accounts instead of deleting them, this can cause alot of junk mail to accumulate in the account's associated mailbox.

We currently move all disabled AD accounts to a DisabledAccounts OU.

By denying the AD user account used for lookups all rights to that specific OU and it's child objects, the Ironport now fails on lookups to that OU.

-Matt

9 Replies 9

kluu_ironport
Level 2
Level 2

Why not keep those "disabled" users in that OU and then create a custom incoming mail policy that matches incoming mail to the recipients that are members of that OU.

Then, you can create a content filter that simply drops those mail for that custom policy only.

steven_geerts
Level 1
Level 1

HI,

I'm not an AD expert but I can imagine that the fact if a user is disables or not is just a simple attribute that is set to a certain value (or not set).

Try to find the correct value with the (terrible) MS tool LDP and extend your LDAP filter with it.

Beware: from what I know from the Exchange 5.5 "hide from address book" attribute, MS permits itself to have three possible situations for a attribute that can have only two values. (The attribute does not exist (false), the attribute ha a value of "1" (true) or the attribute has a value of "0"(false). I'm not sure if they have improved this within the AD

Regards Steven

The AD attribute is userAccountControl and is bitmapped...

You have to AND its value with 0x2 and if the result is zero, the account is enabled.

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/305144

borism.teched
Level 1
Level 1

Hi,

Does anyone knows working LDAP query. I'm testing few of them, but nothing worked yet.

Regards,
Boris

jtw_ironport
Level 1
Level 1