Joseph W. Doherty Wed, 12/17/2008 - 09:58
User Badges:
  • Super Bronze, 10000 points or more

"why are there 4 classes"

That's unclear from the defining RFC2597. My guess would be it was a good fit into the DSCP RFC2474 with minimum conflict to the earlier IP Precedence.

"which gives the lowest drop precedence"

AFx1, per RFC2597

"why not have 1 class with more drop precendences"

My guess would be to best conform with prior IP Precedence and especially with DSCP, RFC2474.


This Discussion