cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

QoS

The_guroo_2
Level 2
Level 2

guy i am very new to QoS just to make my self understand what is the difference between ip precedence and DSCP??? i guess both are used for QoS what is the difference secondly when we make a class-map for example class-map cc.....does it mean that match all....as i have seen another class-map match-all cc.....what is the difference between them....thanks alot for looking one more thing i have created class-map cc on a router and when i do show class-map it shows match-all staement in it......in running config just wanted to know why we write it and when we dont write it....thanks bud

4 Replies 4

Laurent Aubert
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

Hi,

Please look at the following link and let me know if you have other question.

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/tech/tk543/tk757/technologies_tech_note09186a00800949f2.shtml#dscpandassuredforwardingclasses

Thanks

Laurent.

Joseph W. Doherty
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

The difference between IP Predence and DSCP is how the IP header's ToS byte bits are allocated and their purpose. Basically IP Predence is based on an older RFC than the DSCP RFC.

Either can be used, or not, for QoS purposes. There are suggestions for how either might be used, but no, I believe, requirements.

How DSCP might be used was very open ended and there have been follow-on RFCs addressing possible usage. The more important ones concern assured forwarding (AFxy) and expedited forwarding (EF), which you'll likely bump into.

QoS is one of those subjects, that I don't think is really difficult to understand, but requires knowing lots of information for it to be well understood.

You might try first reading some Wiki articles on the subject along with some Cisco infomation other than their IOS reference manuals. A good book on the subject can be a great aid.

Craig Norborg
Level 4
Level 4