Answered Question
Dec 26th, 2008

So here is the command i have a question about:(hopefully this pastes correct)

R4(config)#logging trap ?

<0-7> Logging severity level

alerts Immediate action needed (severity=1)

critical Critical conditions (severity=2)

debugging Debugging messages (severity=7)

emergencies System is unusable (severity=0)

errors Error conditions (severity=3)

informational Informational messages (severity=6)

notifications Normal but significant conditions (severity=5)

warnings Warning conditions (severity=4)


The question i have is: How do i know what is logged under say level 3 vs level 4? I cant seem to find this info anywhere. This would be for switches and routers.

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Correct Answer by Giuseppe Larosa about 7 years 11 months ago

Hello Mike,

you have to look at the error message reference

here is the link to the books for IOS 12.4 mainline


the number is the severity level

Hope to help


  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Overall Rating: 5 (1 ratings)


This Discussion