cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

How do I send user broadcast traffic across 2 seperate networks

genzo1422
Level 1
Level 1

I am very new to cisco routers about 1 week experience. I have been setting up a network for testing purposes and I am running into an issue with a single user broadcast message.

We have a software package that sends a broadcast message out on port 9198 and another software that when the message is received sends a message back saying who it is.

The network is set up as such

cisco switch(8 comps attached)

port 1 on switch--> cisco router port fa1/14

span port on fa1/15

comps on ports fa1/1-4

fa1/14 ip 172.16.207.1

fa1/2 ip 192.168.2.1

The computer sending the broadcast message is plugged into the switch and has ip 172.16.207.200, it has no problems with the broadcast getting to all computers on the switch but is unable to get it to the other network. All UDP/TCP/Multicast traffic is able to make it across to all the computers but not this broadcast message.

Again I am very new to cisco routers so if there is any other info needed please let me know.

FYI Wireshark on the spanport sees the broadcast message but wireshark on the fa1/2 port does not.

7 Replies 7

Richard Burts
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Jason

There are a few aspects of your situation that are not clear in this post. Is the switch configured with multiple VLANs or just a single VLAN? Is the port from the switch to the router a trunk port or just an access port?

But since you say that UDP and TCP make it accross it seems that something is set up to handle this.

By default routers do not forward broadcasts outside of the subnet in which they originate. There is an exception to this which you can configure on the router. Assuming that the broadcast on 9198 is a UDP packet then you would configure this on the router:

ip forward-protocol udp 9198

ip helper-address

Give it a try and let us know if it works.

HTH

Rick

HTH

Rick

Rick,