cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

LWAPP Conversion of 1252 AP failing

c.fuller
Level 1
Level 1

Hello. I am having trouble performing a simple autonomous to lwapp conversion on a 1252 .11n AP. It is the LWAPP model number, but of course it shipped with Autonomous code on it. So I have to convert.

I have version 3.4 of upgrade tool. I create the flat file with the one AP in it and enter all the necessary information. I use the upgrade tool TFTP server and navigate/select the image file: exact file is -> "c1250-rcvk9w8-tar.124-10b.JA3.tar". When I select upgrade I get an error indicating the recovery image is not a valid one.

Does anyone know what I am missing here? Can someone outline the steps? This is my first conversion attempt as I have been running 1000 Series APs for the past 3 years.

Thanks

Chuck

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

If you need to convert from LWAPP to Autonomous, try this ...

Requirements:

• Image file (such as c1200-k9w7-tar.122-15.JA.tar);

• AP is connected to the Wireless LAN Controller; and

• AP can ping the TFTP server where the image is located.

Procedures:

1. Find out what AP needs to be converted from LWAPP to Autonomous mode by entering the following command:

sh ap summary

2. Enter the following CLI command on the Wireless LAN Controller:

config ap tftp-downgrade

3. The AP will download the software and after a reboot, the AP will be on Autonomous mode.

NOTE: Can you please put a "tick" that your issue has been resolved?

View solution in original post

7 Replies 7

Stephen Rodriguez
Cisco Employee
Cisco Employee

It's possible the 3.4 tool does not recognize the image you are trying to use. But, thankfully it's a 1252, so it definitely has a MIC. Try the following:

archive download-sw /f /0 tftp:///c1250-rcvk9w8-tar.123010b.JA3.tar

if that doesn't work, pull the JDA image and try it again

HTH,

Steve

HTH,
Steve

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------