cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

DMZ configuration

chevymannie
Level 1
Level 1

I'm new to firewall configurations so I need a little clarity. I have an asa setup. My internal network is 192.168.0.0/24 and my dmz network is 10.0.0.0 /24. Now I need to know how to configure access from my internal network to my dmz network. We have a webserver and an ftp server on the same box there. I also have statics setup for outside access. I need to see an example DMZ acl and for some to explain it to me because I can't find documentation for it anywhere on the cisco site.

6 Replies 6

sdoremus33
Level 3
Level 3

Start with this page

http://www.cisco.com/en/US/products/ps6120/products_configuration_example09186a00807fc191.shtml#DMZ2inside

So if your internal network is 192.168.0.0 and the dmx is 10.0.0.0 you would need to do something like this

1.Specify the source(s) of the traffic that must be translated.

so in your case it would be

nat (inside) 1 192.168.0.0 /* This is the inside subnet that needs to xlated and appear as a host on the 10.0.0.0 DMZ network

global (dmz) 1 interface /* This will take the src traffic (inside subnet) and xlate or present the src as the interface of the dmz subnet which will allow you to access the devices within your dmz.HTH

Since you are traversing from a higher security interface to a lower interface you do not need an ACL to specify the traffic,however if you require traffic from an outsideor dmz host access to insode resources then you will nedd an ACL first to permit the traffic then specify the static translation that will be stored in your xlate table

So if your internal network is 192.168.0.0 and the dmz is 10.0.0.0 you would need to do something like this

ASA-Device name(config)# nat (inside) 1 192.168.0.0 255.255.0.0

ASA-Device-name(config)# global (DMZ) 1 interface. HTH

Cool, so how would an acl for the dmz look for accessing a web server?