Views
Helpful
Replies

Rerouting BGP connections

WabukiSensei
Level 1
Level 1

Hi All,

I'm kinda new to BGP and still learning the kinks of the technology, hopefully you can help me with a little problem I'm having at the moment.

Currently my connection is using BGP through a DS3 link that is running at 45 Mbps. I have a Metro-E connection that is 30 Mbps that I want to use as the primary link going out from my AS. My DS3 link will function as a backup BGP link from then.

Currently I have both links configured for BGP and set them as BGP neighbors but the traffic won't swing over to the Metro-E link (both links are from the same provider, hence both are from the same AS).

Do I need to change the weights or local preference to get the traffic to swing over? I haven't had the chance to try this out yet since I don't have a proper lab to test this out, but any suggestions are definitely welcome.

Thank you all for your kind help!

WabukiSensei

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Hi WabukiSensei ,

In order to filter the incoming routes , you may prefer to use localpreference in order to influence the outbound traffic.

In order to use neighbor X as the first outbound link , you can use the following configuration.

route-map X-INBOUND

set local-preference 120

router bgp MY_ASN

neighbor X route-map X-INBOUND in

After using this config , you can remove the inbound distribute-list from neighbor Y .

This will influence your outbound traffic only. If you experience some problem for the inbound traffic , you may think of using the MED option , too.

HTH,

Kerem

View solution in original post

WabukiSensei

Kerem and I have both suggested using local preference to favor the routes learned over the Metro Ethernet. But that will do no good until you fix the issue with your distribute list. The significant parts of the config are:

neighbor Y distribute-list bgp-from-ISP in

ip access-list standard bgp-from-ISP

permit 0.0.0.0

deny any