josephnuccio
Level 1
Level 1

In our office we have the following setup:

1. Verizon DSL with Static IP address

2. Westell A90-220015-04 DSL Modem

3. Linksys RV-042 Router

4. Dlink DSS-24 switch

These have been in place for several years and are working fine. But, we have run out of ports on the switch, so my boss has asked me to remove the DSS-24 switch and replace it with qty 3, Cisco 2950T-24 new switches which are new in the box.

I am not a network pro, and just know enough to get in trouble. After installing the new switches in our equipment rack, what do I have to do, if anything, to get 72 ports available.

I was told they will work right out of the box with no special configuration or setup required.

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

pstebner10
Level 1
Level 1

Joseph-

They will indeed 'work right out of the box' for your purposes. You will need to link the 3 together using cross-over cables - one should have been included with each switch - they will probably either be orange or red CAT5 cables. You can tell by looking at the colors of the 8 wires on both ends of the cables. On one end, from left-to-right when looking at the bottom side of the jack, you will see: orange-white;orange;green-white;blue;blue-white;green;brown-white;brown. On the other end, if it is identical it's not a crossover. It shoud read: green-white;green;orange-white;blue;blue-white;orange;brown-white;brown. Then you know you have a cross-over cable.