cancel
Views
Helpful
Replies

Connecting 2,3 or 4 sites over MPLS

mortonjes
Level 1
Level 1

Hi. I have some routing experience but I don't have much experience routing over a service providers MPLS network and had some questions..

Say I had 3 sites in different cities. I want to be able to route my data traffice to each site. I would like to use a MPLS provider.

Does the provider hand-off copper and/or fiber to me?

If fiber, is it usually single mode for anything above 10 megabits?

Would the hand-off be a layer 2 or 3 hand-off?

If layer 2, do I trunk with the providers directly connected interface/port?

If layer 3, do I "peer" with the providers directly connected interface with a routing protocol?

If I want to use EIGRP between my 3 sites, can I configure them to all be in the same AS?

I'm assuming I would need a layer2 and or layer 3 device at each of the locations to interface into the provider. What type of router/layer3 switch would be good for something like this? (Must be able to handle heavy traffic. Say, sustained 40 megabit throughput throughout the day.)

Does anyone know of or have any configuration samples/diagrams of the "customer side" of routing over MPLS? (I've seen a lot of docs on configuring MPLS but that's not what I want to do.) My goal is to interface with the carrier to use their backbone and just pass/route my data-traffic to my different sites.

Any advice/pointers/help would be GREATLY appreciated!

2 Accepted Solutions

Accepted Solutions

Giuseppe Larosa
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame

Hello Jesse,

a L3 MPLS VPN service is a good solution for your needs.

In this case the MPLS service provider will give you a L3 interface.

MPLS L3 VPN uses a peer-model: your router will build a routing relationship with the PE node that is directly attached.

EIGRP is a viable option and the configuration in your side doesn't change from the conventional one.