Views
Helpful
Replies

CCVP LAB Question????

Charlie Mayes
Level 1
Level 1

Hello All,

I am new to setting up a VOIP network. I purchased a 2621XM router and have the telephony-service configured and have setup my ip phones on my internal network. Everything works but, I want to make a call over the PSTN to my wife's cell phone or any other person from my ip phone and I also want them to be able to call me. If I buy a FXO card and install it in my router will I be able to plug in my home phoneline and make a call out through my router and receive incoming calls to my ip phones as well? Or is this thing going to be much more involved than that?

1 Accepted Solution

Accepted Solutions

Hi Charlie,

No problem. Getting into voice can be a fairly daunting task sometimes.

Glad I could help - please remember to rate helpful posts so that others that use this thread as a reference will be able to navigate it easier.

-nick

View solution in original post

14 Replies 14

Yes, you can get a VIC-2FXO or something of the sort and that will work. Keep in mind that you need DSPs for this to work as well. You could get something like a NM-HDV, NM-2V, or NM-HDV2 and that would have onboard DSPs.

hth,

nick

Hey Nic,

What is are DSP, NM-HDV,NM-HDV2 and what does it do?

DSPs turn analog traffic into RTP.

They are required for conferencing, transcoding, MTPs, and any analog voice pots connections.

Here is a calculator:

http://www.cisco.com/cgi-bin/Support/DSP/cisco_prodsel.pl

They do the Digital Signaling Processing:

http://www.ti.com/corp/docs/investor/dsp/dsp.htm

hth,

nick

Hey Nick,

I went to see what you were talking about. On Ebay the DSPs are still expensive. If I don't have that module the digital to voice conversion will not happen right. This will make what I am trying to do not work at all whenI am calling from a IP Phone to a PSTN phone. Am I understaning everything you have told me?

Hi Charlie,