im smart but where to start ? ?

Unanswered Question
Feb 17th, 2009

My good friend works at the national institute of health on cisco equipment . He knows im really tired of my plumbing career and he also knows how intuitive and self taught i can be . He thinks i can teach myself to getting my ccna ( with his help )and he could help me get a job . where would i start ? he told me to get the dvds from cbtnuggets . but i feel like thats going to be missing something in the area of " hands on " . im a visual learner and have never needed anyone to teach me anything ( taught myself how to build and moddify engines ) with that being said is it possable to teach yourself a ccna cert or will i need one of these $3k classes i see cisco linking me too ( fastlane ) ? any help will be appreciated . thx

I have this problem too.
0 votes
Overall Rating: 5 (1 ratings)
compsolv Tue, 02/17/2009 - 14:22

Check out a sample lesson from our course that will release prior to March 1. The course will consist of videos, Hands-On labs w/ actual equipment, 24x7 support forums, practice exams, and practice labs - all for a FRACTION of the cost of traditional training.

izackvail Tue, 02/17/2009 - 19:02

I think it is definitely possible to teach yourself. It just depends on how much time you have. You will definitely need books and even those aren't cheap. If you have the time and energy to figure it out yourself then give it a go. But if you are short on time and you have the dollars to spend on some formal training then I would definitely recommend that.

If you choose to purchases something I woud definitely recommend Internetwork Expert.

I agree with both of the above posters and I wanted to interject another opinion about OPs question. I am not in the same scenario as you are but I am assisting a friend of mine to get into the "Cisco" field. This is what I recommended:

1. Purchase the the dual book CCNA package or purchase the CCENT (pre-CCNA) book package.